top of page
  • shayanjp

It has been a long time since I have written one of these but it's finally time to get back into the weekly ritual. My winter break regarding ISM was just waiting on the email response from Dr. Reddy regarding being my mentor. I unfortunately never received one but I plan on following up tomorrow hoping he is back in office and teaching.

This week we had only one assignment and that was a Primary Source Assessment. Unfortunately to do this you would need an interview or a mentor. I have neither so I had to do a Research Assessment. While this may seem easy and something that sounds even better. It was actually a harder task considering how I had to change the perspective of my topic. I was forced to go from the treatment of Temporomandibular Disorders to understanding the biology and the true causes because only then would I be able to find actual treatment. Doctors have still yet to find why Temporomandibular Disorders actually happen, but I will try myself to stay active with current thoughts and data. I used a simpler article for my assessment so I could get introduced back into the causes section. The writing of this assessment was a lot harder cause if you thought the treatment was unknown, the causes are completely unknown. No one actually knows why TMDs truly happen. All they have is theories of wear and tear but nothing else. I hope going down this path doesn't lead me to a dead end. But I was able to finish my assessment and relax.

I'm still waiting on Dr. Reddy and I am a little nervous and pestimistic considering his response. But I do hope I get a good answer for the sake of my research cause I do not know how I would do this without a mentor.


Comments


bottom of page