top of page
  • shayanjp

When I wrote last week's blog I referenced an interview I would have with Dr. Damon Spencer the following day. And today's blog is finally the day I get to say it's gone extremely well. Dr. Spencer was an incredible person to meet, his personal advice on how to be a successful doctor/dentist, and even more broad into success as a person is something I am going to keep close for a long time. I learned a lot about what it takes to succeed as a doctor and how to be the most productive. But that is not all. Dr Spencer gave me great insight on Temporomandibular Disorders as well. In fact, a major claim he made was he absolutely countered Dr. Reddy's claim that all the arthrocentesis injections were placebo affect, and he believes the field should continue to move forward with studies such as this because they were working and we can get more out of them. In a sense I wish I had met him earlier because knowing this I could have kept focusing more on treatment. But overall he gave great opinions on different causes such as estrogen in females and more. This interview was a major success and his information will be crucial to developing my final product. The entire interview he was talking good about me, and I almost was at loss for words. He ended up introducing me to a member of his staff, even wanted me to watch as he observed a patient, and most importantly he offered me to shadow him! This was the best news I could have possibly heard. However, I am not going to ask him to be my mentor. If I had met him in January or even February, I 100% would have, but by the time I ask, and he fills out the background check, and the background check goes through, my final product is due. It doesn't seem worth it. However I will definitely invite him to the Final Presentation Night, and also I would love to take up his offer of shadowing during the summer if possible. I would have to work out a schedule and see how often I could go about this but it seems perfect. I am very thankful or the opportunity, and this easter break gives me good time to rest and finish up this final product.



Comments


bottom of page